Dittofi
Searchโ€ฆ
What are Dittofi Workspaces?
Lesson 3 in the Dittofi Onboarding Series
What are Dittofi Workspaces & how to collaborate
Any app that you will build in Dittofi, will exist inside of a workspace. In this tutorial, you will learn about:
  • Dittofi Workspaces
  • Managing workspace collaborators
  • Workspace permission levels
  • Other workspace settings

Dittofi Workspaces

A workspace is like a folder in which you can store multiple apps, landing pages or websites. These can be apps that youโ€™re developing or apps that someone is developing for you.
Workspaces can be used in many different ways. One way is to help order your apps into different categories. For instance, if you're a freelancer you might choose to create workspaces per app type: one workspace for landing pages, one for websites and one for apps youโ€™re building for your client.
Below you can see an example, where we have created two workspaces. One workspace is for all the landing pages applications that I'm going to build and one is for all of the MVP apps that I'm going to build.
Two Workspaces: one for MVP Apps and one for Landing Page Apps
You might also choose to create workspaces for every single client that comes to you, or alternatively ask your client to create and pay for their own workspace and share that with you.

Managing workspace collaborators

Collaborators are people that you might choose to share your workspace with. For example, if you're a startup who has multiple people on the team, or is working with a Dittofi Expert to build your app, you are able to create a workspace and then share that workspace with the rest of your team and / or the Dittofi Expert that's helping you build your app.
Adding collaborators to your workspace is really easy. One of the most straightforward ways to do this is from within the workspace itself. Here you can click that little share button. This brings up a list of current collaborators and a place to input the email address of individuals you would like to add as collaborators.
Adding a collaborator to a Dittofi Workspace
Adding a collaborator will send an email to the collaborator. They can then login to the Dittofi Design Studio and see the workspace there.
To remove a collaborator, you can simply press the delete button next to the email of the collaborator that you want to remove.

Workspace Permission Levels

When adding a new collaborator Dittofi gives you the option to add collaborators to one of six permission groups: owner, creator, editor, commenter, read only.
Making a collaborator part of a permissions group will restrict what they can do to apps within the workspace. The grid below explains what each permission group does.
Permission group
Description
Owner
The workspace owner is the person who is paying for the workspace. This person has full access to the workspace and all of the apps inside the workspace.
Creator
A creator is the person or group of people building the app. They have permission to do anything within the workspace except for seeing the billing information.
Editor
The editor is a person who needs to manage content for the site or app. This person only gets access to edit the data in the site or app, for example adding blog posts, resetting passwords, removing users etc.
Read only
A person with read only permissions can only see the data generated by the app. They cannot add, delete or edit data.
Commenter
A commenter can only add comments. They cannot add, delete or edit data or make any changes to the actual app.

Other workspace settings

By clicking the downward facing arrow next to the name of your workspace, you can access your workspace settings.
Dittofi Workspace Settings
From within the workspace settings, you can update basic information about your workspace such as workspace image, name, description and collaborators.
Dittofi Workspace Settings
You can also upgrade your workspace to a higher tier if you feel like the apps in your workspace need more features, resources or support.
Pricing per workspace: resource and feature based
Ditto Tip: Dittofi charge depending on how your apps scale. This is because it costs Dittofi more money to run apps as it gets more traffic.
Lastly, you can review old invoices that have been charged to the workspace.

Onwards

Next up, we will be diving into the Dittofi App Design Studio. We will give you a quick orientation and show you some of the basic and more extreme things that you can do with Dittofi.
โ€‹
Last modified 17d ago